PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES



Joint Select Committee on the NSW Reconstruction Authority

Extracts from Votes and Proceedings No. 38, 29 November 2023, Item 13

13 APPOINTMENT OF THE JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE NSW RECONSTRUCTION AUTHORITY

Mr Ron Hoenig moved, pursuant to notice, That notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders:

- 1) In accordance with section 93 of the NSW Reconstruction Authority Act 2022, a joint select committee, to be known as the Joint Select Committee on the NSW Reconstruction Authority, be established.
- 2) The Committee is to review
 - (a) the NSW Reconstruction Authority Act 2022 to determine whether
 - i. the policy objectives of the Act remain valid, and
 - ii. the terms of the Act remain appropriate for securing the objectives.
 - (b) the operations of the Authority regarding any disaster in relation to which the Authority exercises functions.
- 3) A review under (2) is to be undertaken as soon as practicable—
 - (a) for a review under (2)(a)—after the period of 12 months from the date of assent to the Act, and
 - (b) for a review under (2)(b)—after the disaster to which the review relates.
- 4) A report on the outcome of a review under subsection (2) is to be tabled in each House of Parliament within—
 - (a) for a review under subsection (2)(a)-2 years after the date of assent to this Act, and
 - (b) for a review under subsection (2)(b)—12 months after the disaster to which the review relates.
- 5) The Committee is to consist of ten members, as follows:
 - (a) six Legislative Assembly members, and
 - (b) four Legislative Council members
- 6) Mr Clayton Barr shall be the Chair of the Committee.

- 7) Mr Philip Donato, Ms Liza Butler, Mr Warren Kirby, Ms Tamara Smith and Mr Richard Williamson be appointed to serve on such Committee as members of the Legislative Assembly.
- 8) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales, and other States and Territories of Australia.
- 9) The Committee will have leave to sit during the sitting or any adjournment of the House.
- 10) That at any meeting of the Committee four members shall constitute a quorum, but the Committee must meet as a joint committee at all times.
- 11) A message be sent acquainting the Legislative Council of the resolution and requesting that it appoint four of its Members to serve on the Committee.

Question put and passed

Extracts from Minutes of Proceedings No. 39, 30 November 2023, Item 50

50 JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE NSW RECONSTRUCTION AUTHORITY

Order of the day read for consideration of the Legislative Assembly's message of this day concerning the NSW Reconstruction Authority.

Ms Sharpe moved, without notice:

- That this House agrees to the resolution in the Legislative Assembly's message of Thursday 30 November 2023 relating to the appointment of a Joint Select Committee on the NSW Reconstruction Authority.
- 2) That the representatives of the Legislative Council on the Joint Select Committee be Mr Farraway, Ms Higginson, Mr Lawrence, and Ms Suvaal.
- 3) That, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders, this House requests that the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly set the time and place of the first meeting.

Question put and passed.