Resolution passed by the Legislative Assembly, 21 October 2020, Votes and Proceedings No 73, Item 4

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON COERCIVE CONTROL

Mr Mark Speakman moved, by leave, That:

(1) A Joint Select Committee, to be known as the Joint Select Committee on Coercive Control be appointed.

(2) The Committee inquire and report on coercive control in domestic relationships.

(3) The Committee, in undertaking (2), will:

(a) Have regard to the discussion paper entitled 'Coercive Control' issued by the Government on 13 October 2020;

(b) Answer the questions posed in the discussion paper;

(c) Have regard to any matters the Committee considers relevant; and

(d) Make such recommendations as the Committee considers appropriate.

(4) The Committee will consult with key stakeholders as required.

(5) The Committee to consist of:

(a) Five members of the Legislative Assembly, namely Mr Justin Clancy MP, Ms Trish Doyle MP, Mr Peter Sidgreaves MP, Ms Steph Cooke MP and Ms Anna Watson MP; and

(b) Three members of the Legislative Council, namely the Hon Natalie Ward MLC (Chair), the Hon Abigail Boyd MLC, and the Hon Rod Roberts MLC.

(6) The Committee report by 30 June 2021.

(7) A message be sent to the Legislative Council requesting the Legislative Council agree to the resolution, and to fix a time and place for the first meeting.

Question put and passed.

Resolution passed by the Legislative Council, 22 October 2020, Minutes No 65, Item 13

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON COERCIVE CONTROL—MEMBERSHIP

On the order of the day for consideration of the Legislative Assembly's message of 21 October 2020 being read, Mr Tudehope moved:

(1) That this House agrees to the resolution in the Legislative Assembly's message of Wednesday 22 October 2020 relating to the appointment of a Joint Select Committee on Coercive Control.

(2) That the time and place for the first meeting be advised once it has been determined.

Debate ensued. Question put and passed.