EXTRACT FROM VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS NO. 56, THURSDAY 18 JUNE 2020, ENTRY 10

10 JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE ANTI-DISCRIMINATION AMENDMENT (RELIGIOUS FREEDOMS AND EQUALITY) BILL 2020

Mr Mark Speakman moved, by leave, That:

- (1) A Joint Select Committee, to be known as the Joint Select Committee on the Anti-Discrimination Amendment (Religious Freedoms and Equality) Bill 2020, be appointed.
- (2) That the Committee inquire and report into the Anti-Discrimination Amendment (Religious Freedoms and Equality) Bill 2020, including whether the objectives of the bill are valid and (if so) whether the terms of the bill are appropriate for securing its objectives.
- (3) That the Committee, in undertaking (2), have regard to:
 - (a) Existing rights and legal protections contained in the Anti-Discrimination Act 1977 (NSW) and other relevant NSW and Commonwealth legislation;
 - (b) The recommendations relevant to NSW from the Expert Panel Report: Religious Freedom Review (2018);
 - (c) The interaction between Commonwealth and NSW anti-discrimination laws and the desirability of consistency between those laws, including consideration of:
 - (i) The draft Religious Discrimination Bill 2019 (Cth) which has been released for public consultation, and
 - (ii) The Australian Law Reform Commission's reference into the Framework of Religious Exemptions in Anti-discrimination Legislation.
- (4) The Committee will consult with key stakeholders as required.
- (5) The Committee to consist of:
 - (a) Eight members of the Legislative Assembly as follows:
 - (i) Three Government members, namely Hon Gabrielle Upton MP (as Chair), Robyn Preston MP and Gurmesh Singh MP,
 - (ii) Two Opposition members, namely Paul Lynch MP (as Deputy Chair) and Tania Mihailuk MP, and
 - (iii) Three cross-bench members, namely Alex Greenwich MP, Jenny Leong MP and Joe McGirr MP, and
 - (b) Six members of the Legislative Council, namely three Government members, two Opposition members, and one cross-bench member.
- (6) That at any meeting of the Committee, seven members, including at least one member of the Legislative Assembly and at least one member of the Legislative Council, shall constitute a quorum.
- (7) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales.
- (8) The Committee report by 31 March 2021.
- (9) A message be sent to the Legislative Council requesting the Legislative Council agree to the resolution, nominate six of its members to the proposed Committee, and to fix a time and place for the first meeting.

Debate ensued.

Question put and passed.