PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES



Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe)

Extracts from Votes and Proceedings No. 12, Thursday 22 June 2023

16 PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES

Mr Ron Hoenig moved, by leave,

That the following motions for the establishment of Parliamentary committees and the appointment of members be agreed to:

(8) Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety

That:

- A Joint Standing Committee (to be known as the Staysafe Committee) be appointed to inquire into and report on road safety in New South Wales with the following terms of reference:
 - (1) As an ongoing task, the Committee is to—
 - (a) Monitor, investigate and report on the road safety situation in New South Wales; and
 - (b) Review and report on countermeasures aimed at reducing deaths, injuries, and the social and economic costs to the community arising from road accidents
- The Committee consist of six members of the Legislative Assembly and three members
 of the Legislative Council and that, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing
 orders of either House, at any meeting of the Committee, any four members shall
 constitute a quorum provided that the Committee shall meet as a joint committee at all
 times.
- 3. Mr Edmond Atalla, Mr Roy Butler, Mr Warren Kirby, Mr Greg Warren, Ms Kylie Wilkinson, and Mr Matt Cross be appointed to serve on such committee as the members of the Legislative Assembly.
- 4. Mr Greg Warren shall be the Chair of the Committee.
- 5. The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other States and Territories of Australia.
- 6. A message be sent acquainting the Legislative Council with the resolution and requesting the Legislative Council appoint three of its members to serve with the members of the Legislative Assembly upon the Committee, and to fix a time and place for the first meeting.

Question put and passed.

Extracts from Minutes of Proceedings No. 15, Thursday 29 June 2023

22 JOINT COMMITTEES

Ms Sharpe moved, by leave and without notice:

That Government business orders of the day nos 5 to 9 and 11 to 12 on the Notice Paper relating to the appointment of joint statutory and joint standing committees be considered in globo.

Ms Sharpe then moved:

(6) Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety

- 1. That this House agrees to the resolution in the Legislative Assembly's message of Thursday 22 June 2023 relating to the appointment of a Joint Standing Committee to inquire into and report on road safety in New South Wales.
- 2. That the representatives of the Legislative Council on the Joint Standing Committee be Mr D'Adam, Mr Latham and Mrs Ward.
- 3. That this House requests that the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly set the time and place of the first meeting.

Question put and passed.

