

Extracts from Votes and Proceedings No. 12, Thursday 22 June 2023

16 PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES

Mr Ron Hoenig moved, by leave, That the following motions for the establishment of Parliamentary committees and the appointment of members be agreed to:

(10) Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services

That:

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders:

- (1) A Portfolio Standing Committee to be known as the Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services be appointed. The following portfolio responsibilities stand referred to the Committee – Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty; Seniors; Education and Early Learning; Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education; Families and Communities; Disability Inclusion; Health; Medical Research; Mental Health; Multiculturalism; Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault; Housing; Youth; Customer Services and Digital Government; and Women.
- (2) The name and portfolio groupings of the Committee may change to correspond with any changes made by the Government to the relevant portfolios.

Terms of reference

		nmittee may examine, inquire into and report on the following matters ing its portfolio areas:	1
	(a)	any matter referred to it by the House;	
	(b)	any relevant policy, bill or subordinate legislation;	
	(c)	any relevant financial matter; and	
	(d)	any relevant portfolio issue.	
(4)	<u>Legislati</u>	ve scrutiny - The Committee, in this context, have a legislative scrutiny function	

- that shall include evaluating the policy impact and consequences for each portfolio of any relevant bill introduced in Parliament, any existing legislation and any item of subordinate legislation.
- (5) <u>Financial matters</u> The examination of financial matters by the Committee include the review of government financial management, by considering the financial documents, expenditure, performance and effectiveness of any relevant government department, agency, statutory body or state-owned corporation.

- (6) Examination of annual and other reports The Committee may examine any matter in the annual report or other reports of any public body, including:
 - (a) the adequacy and accuracy of all financial and operational information;
 - (b) any matter arising from the annual report or other report concerning the efficient and effective achievement of the agency's objectives.
- (7) <u>Public works</u> The Committee may consider any matter concerning public works relating to the portfolio area.

Initiation of inquiries

- (8) The Committee may be referred an inquiry by resolution of the House or in writing from a Minister.
- (9) Except in the case of bills, the Committee also may initiate an inquiry on its own motion and report on any proposal, matter or thing relevant to its functions, including an annual report, other report or petition. The Committee can only consider a Bill on referral from the House, in accordance with standing order 323 (Legislation Committees).
- (10) The Committee take care not to duplicate an inquiry into any matters under examination by another portfolio or standing committee of the House, and any question arising in this connection may be referred to the House for determination.

Membership

- (11) The Committee consist of seven members, comprising:
 - (a) four Government members (one of whom shall be the chair);
 - (b) two Opposition members; and
 - (c) one Crossbench member.
- (12) The following members of the Legislative Assembly be appointed to serve on the Committee: Mr Clayton Barr, Ms Liza Butler, Ms Donna Davis, Ms Trish Doyle, Mrs Helen Dalton, Ms Felicity Wilson and Mrs Tanya Thompson.
- (13) Mr Clayton Barr shall be the Chair of the Committee.

Sub-committees

- (14) The Committee have the power to appoint sub-committees, consisting of 3 members, and to refer to a sub-committee any of the matters which the Committee is empowered to consider. In this regard, the sub-committee may be responsible for conducting hearings, briefings, visits of inspections and other activities but cannot make decisions concerning the conduct of an inquiry, such as the selection of witnesses, and the Committee's reports.
- (15) A sub-committee have at least one member supporting the Government and one member not supporting the Government, and a quorum for a sub-committee shall be at least two members.

Visits of inspection

(16) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other States and Territories of Australia.

Question put and passed.

