

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES

Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission and the Crime Commission

Extracts from Votes and Proceedings No. 12, Thursday 22 June 2023

16 PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES

Mr Ron Hoenig moved, by leave,

That the following motions for the establishment of Parliamentary committees and the appointment of members be agreed to:

(5) Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission and the Crime Commission

That:

- In accordance with section 31C of the Ombudsman Act 1974, the following members of the Legislative Assembly be appointed to serve on the Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission and the Crime Commission: Mr Phil Donato, Ms Karen McKeown, Mr Tri Vo, and Mr Mark Taylor.
- 2. The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other states and territories of Australia.
- 3. A message be sent acquainting the Legislative Council with the resolution and requesting the Legislative Council appoint three of its members to serve on the Committee.

Question put and passed.

Extracts from Minutes of Proceedings No. 15, Thursday 29 June 2023

22 JOINT COMMITTEES

Ms Sharpe moved, by leave and without notice:

That Government business orders of the day nos 5 to 9 and 11 to 12 on the Notice Paper relating to the appointment of joint statutory and joint standing committees be considered in globo.

Ms Sharpe then moved:

(4) Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission and the Crime Commission

- 1. That under section 31A of the Ombudsman Act 1974, a joint committee known as the Committee on the Ombudsman, the Law Enforcement Conduct Commission and the Crime Commission be appointed.
- 2. That under section 31C(1)(a) of the Act, Ms Higginson, Ms Merton and Mr Murphy be appointed to serve on the committee as members of the Legislative Council.

Question put and passed.