PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES



Committee on Children and Young People

29 August 2023

MEDIA RELEASE

Historic milestone: first all-female parliamentary committee

Breaking barriers and setting a precedent in NSW politics, the Committee on Children and Young People marks a historic milestone as the first-ever all-female NSW parliamentary committee. Comprising exceptional women leaders, the Committee is poised to champion the rights and wellbeing of children and young people by overseeing the work of the Advocate for Children and Young People and the Children's Guardian.

The appointment of all-female membership to an important oversight committee is an example of pioneering women lawmakers progressing women's roles in the state Parliament.

Mrs Helen Dalton MP, Committee Chair and Member for Murray, emphasised the significance of this momentous occasion, stating, "We are making history by creating a platform for the voices of women and, most importantly, the voices of children and young people we represent, to be heard, acknowledged, and acted on."

In the 58th Parliament, seven of 18 Legislative Assembly-administered committees are made up predominantly of women, with four committees Chaired by female Members of Parliament. Forty-six per cent of the 122 Members that serve on these committees are women.

Under the leadership of Mrs Dalton, the Committee on Children and Young People has the following members:

- Karen McKeown MP (Deputy Chair), Member for Penrith
- Donna Davis MP, Member for Parramatta
- Kylie Wilkinson MP, Member for East Hills
- Amanda Cohn MLC
- Aileen MacDonald MLC
- Emily Suvaal MLC.

More information about the Committee's role is available on the Committee's webpage.

Media contact: Helen Dalton MP, Committee Chair – (02) 6962 6644