JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE ON COMPANION ANIMAL BREEDING PRACTICES IN NEW SOUTH WALES

Mr Anthony Roberts moved, by leave, That:

- (1) A joint select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on companion animal breeding practices in New South Wales, and in particular:
 - (a) The current situation in New South Wales in comparison with other jurisdictions;
 - (b) Proposals to limit the number of animals allowed to be kept by breeders;
 - (c) Calls to implement a breeders' licensing system;
 - (d) The implications of banning the sale of dogs and cats in pet stores;
 - (e) Any legislative changes that may be required; and
 - (f) Any other related matter.
- (2) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the standing orders of either House, the committee consist of nine members comprising:
 - (a) five members of the Legislative Assembly, of whom:
 - (i) three are Government members, being Mr Adam Crouch, Mr Alister Henskens, and Mr Adam Marshall;
 - (ii) one is an Opposition member, who shall be nominated in writing to the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by the Opposition Whip; and
 - (iii) one is an Independent member, being Mr Greg Piper.
 - (b) four members of the Legislative Council, of whom:
 - (i) two are Government members;
 - (ii) one is an Opposition member; and
 - (iii) one is a Crossbench member.
- (3) The Chair of the committee be Mr Adam Marshall and the Deputy Chair of the Committee be elected at its first meeting.
- (4) Notwithstanding anything in the standing orders of either House, at any meeting of the committee, any five members of the committee will constitute a quorum, provided that at least one member of each House is present at all times.
- (5) The committee report by 31 August 2015.
- (6) A message be sent to the Legislative Council requesting the Legislative Council to agree to a similar resolution and name the time and place for the committee's first meeting.

Upon which Mr Michael Daley moved, That the motion be amended by:

- (1) Leaving out "nine" in part (2) and inserting instead "ten".
- (2) Leaving out "five" in part (2) (a) and inserting instead "six".
- (3) Leaving out (ii) in part (2) (a) and inserting instead:
 - "(ii) two are Opposition members, who shall be nominated in writing to the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by the Opposition Whip; and"

Question proposed—That the amendment be agreed to.

Debate continued.

Question put.

The House divided.

Legislative Assembly, Wednesday 13 May 2015 - Votes and Proceedings No. 5 Item 3

AYES 32

Ms Aitchison, Mr Atalla, Mr Barr, Ms Burney, Ms Car, Ms Catley, Mr Chanthivong, Mr Crakanthorp, Mr Daley, Mr Dib, Ms Doyle, Ms Finn, Mr Harris, Ms Harrison, Ms Haylen, Mr Hoenig, Mr Kamper, Mr Lynch, Dr McDermott, Ms McKay, Mr Mehan, Ms Mihailuk, Mr Minns, Mr Park, Mr Robertson, Ms K. Smith, Mr Warren, Ms Washington, Ms Watson and Mr Zangari.

Tellers: Ms Hay and Mr Lalich.

NOES 53

Mr Anderson, Mr Aplin, Mr Ayres, Ms Berejiklian, Mr Brookes, Mr Conolly, Mr Constance, Mr Coure, Mr Crouch, Mrs Davies, Mr Dominello, Mr Elliott, Mr Evans, Mr Fraser, Mr Gee, Mr George, Ms Gibbons, Mr Grant, Mr Greenwich, Mr Gulaptis, Mr Henskens, Ms Hodgkinson, Mr Humphries, Mr Johnsen, Mr Kean, Dr Lee, Ms Leong, Mr Maguire, Mr Marshall, Mr Notley-Smith, Mr O'Dea, Mr Parker, Mrs Pavey, Mr Perrottet, Ms Petinos, Mr Piccoli, Mr Piper, Mr Provest, Mr Roberts, Mr Sidoti, Mrs Skinner, Ms T.F. Smith, Mr Speakman, Mr Stokes, Mr Taylor, Mr Toole, Mr Tudehope, Ms Upton, Mr Ward, Mr Williams and Mrs Williams.

Tellers: Mr Bromhead and Mr Patterson.

In the Chair: Mrs Hancock.

Pairs: Mr Foley—Mr Baird and Ms Hornery—Mr Hazzard.

Question negatived.

Question—That the original motion be agreed to—put.

The House divided.

AYES 53

Mr Anderson, Mr Aplin, Mr Ayres, Ms Berejiklian, Mr Brookes, Mr Conolly, Mr Constance, Mr Coure, Mr Crouch, Mrs Davies, Mr Dominello, Mr Elliott, Mr Evans, Mr Fraser, Mr Gee, Mr George, Ms Gibbons, Mr Grant, Mr Greenwich, Mr Gulaptis, Mr Henskens, Ms Hodgkinson, Mr Humphries, Mr Johnsen, Mr Kean, Dr Lee, Ms Leong, Mr Maguire, Mr Marshall, Mr Notley-Smith, Mr O'Dea, Mr Parker, Mrs Pavey, Mr Perrottet, Ms Petinos, Mr Piccoli, Mr Piper, Mr Provest, Mr Roberts, Mr Sidoti, Mrs Skinner, Ms T.F. Smith, Mr Speakman, Mr Stokes, Mr Taylor, Mr Toole, Mr Tudehope, Ms Upton, Mr Ward, Mr Williams and Mrs Williams.

Tellers: Mr Bromhead and Mr Patterson.

NOES 32

Ms Aitchison, Mr Atalla, Mr Barr, Ms Burney, Ms Car, Ms Catley, Mr Chanthivong, Mr Crakanthorp, Mr Daley, Mr Dib, Ms Doyle, Ms Finn, Mr Harris, Ms Harrison, Ms Haylen, Mr Hoenig, Mr Kamper, Mr Lynch, Dr McDermott, Ms McKay, Mr Mehan, Ms Mihailuk, Mr Minns, Mr Park, Mr Robertson, Ms K. Smith, Mr Warren, Ms Washington, Ms Watson and Mr Zangari.

Tellers: Ms Hay and Mr Lalich. In the Chair: Mrs Hancock.

Pairs: Mr Baird—Mr Foley and Mr Hazzard—Ms Hornery.

Question passed.