

## Public Sector Seminar Introduction to the New South Wales Legislative Assembly

## **Macquarie Room, Parliament House**

Time	Session	Speaker	
8.30am - 8.45am	Registration		
8.45am – 9.00am	Outline of the day	Ms Pauline Painter, Knowledge Manager, Procedural Research and Protocol	
9.00am – 9.10am	Welcome by the Speaker	<b>The Hon. Shelley Hancock MP,</b> Speaker of the Legislative Assembly	
9.10am – 9.30am	Introduction and Overview of the Legislative Assembly	Ms Helen Minnican, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly	
9.30am – 10.35am	Conduct of Proceedings - A typical sitting day - House papers explained  Role of the Government and Opposition Whip	Ms Elaine Schofield, A/Clerk-Assistant, Table Guest Speaker: Mr Chris Patterson MP, Government Whip Guest Speaker: Mr Nick Lalich MP, Opposition Whip	
10.35am – 11.00am	Morning tea		
11.00am – 12.25pm	The Legislative Process - The passage of legislation DVD - Explanation of proceedings observed  Role of the Crossbench Members	Mr Leslie Gonye, Deputy Clerk and Serjeant- at-Arms  Mr Jonathan Elliott, Director, Procedural Research and Protocol  Guest Speaker: Mr Jamie Parker MP, Member for Balmain, Member of The Greens	
12.25pm – 1.15pm	Lunch		
1.15рт –2.00рт	The relationship between the public service, Ministers and the Parliament	Mr Clive Mathieson, Director of Economic, Infrastructure and State Priorities, Office of the Premier	
2.00pm – 3.20pm	Observation of Question Time from the Gallery		
3.20рт – 3.45рт	Afternoon Tea with Senior Officers	Opportunity to raise questions and issues	
3.45pm – 4.30pm	The role of the Legislative Assembly and Joint Committees - Committee structure and types - The committee inquiry process Role of the Committee Chair	Ms Catherine Watson, Clerk-Assistant, Committees and Corporate Guest Speaker: Mr Greg Aplin MP, Chair, Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe)	