

New South Wales

Greater Cities Commission Bill 2022

Explanatory note

This explanatory note relates to this Bill as introduced into Parliament.

Overview of Bill

The object of this Bill is to repeal and re-enact the *Greater Sydney Commission Act 2015*, in substantially the same form, for the following purposes—

- (a) to reconstitute the Greater Sydney Commission as the Greater Cities Commission (the *Commission*),
- (b) to replace the Greater Sydney Region with the Six Cities Region (the *Six Cities Region*) and define its boundaries and the boundaries of the 6 cities within it, being the following—
 - (i) the Eastern Harbour City,
 - (ii) the Central River City,
 - (iii) the Central Coast City,
 - (iv) the Lower Hunter and Greater Newcastle City,
 - (v) the Western Parkland City,
 - (vi) the Illawarra-Shoalhaven City.

The Bill also amends the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* to provide that each district strategic plan for a city within the Six Cities Region must, and each other district strategic plan may, include targets for net additional dwellings in local government areas within the district. The Bill also makes savings and transitional amendments and consequential amendments to other legislation.

Outline of provisions

Part 1 Preliminary

Clause 1 sets out the name, also called the short title, of the proposed Act.

Clause 2 provides for the commencement of the proposed Act.

Clause 3 defines words and phrases used in the proposed Act. The *Six Cities Region* is the region comprising the 6 cities described by reference to local government areas listed in proposed Schedule 1.

Clause 4 provides that the regulations may amend Schedule 1 to extend or reduce the Six Cities Region or a city within the Six Cities Region.

Part 2 Greater Cities Commission

Part 2 contains provisions dealing with the Greater Cities Commission.

Division 1 deals with the constitution of the Commission, its members, Chief Executive Officer and other staff.

Division 2 sets out the objectives and functions of the Commission. It also provides that other government agencies have an obligation to provide it with specified information and deals with the delegation of the Commission's functions.

Division 3 deals with the committees of the Commission, including the Finance and Governance Committee, the Strategic Planning Committee and the Infrastructure Delivery Committee.

Part 3 Miscellaneous

Clause 19 provides that the proposed Act binds the Crown.

Clause 20 requires local councils in the Six Cities Region, if requested in writing by the Commission—

- (a) to allow the Commission to have access to, and take copies of, documents held by the council that are relevant to the functions of the Commission, and
- (b) to provide the Commission with staff and facilities, or other assistance, as may be required to assist the Commission in exercising its functions.

Clause 21 requires the Commission to report annually on the following—

- (a) the outcomes achieved by the Commission during the reporting period,
- (b) the implementation of strategic plans made under the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979*, Division 3.1 for the Six Cities Region, including information about related monitoring or evaluation undertaken by the Commission.

Clause 22 prohibits the disclosure of information obtained in connection with the administration of the proposed Act.

Clause 23 limits personal liability for matters or things done or omitted to be done in good faith for the purpose of executing the proposed Act or the provisions of another Act that confer or impose functions on the Commission.

Clause 24 provides for proceedings for an offence under the proposed Act to be dealt with summarily before the Local Court.

Clause 25 provides for the making of regulations for the purposes of the proposed Act.

Clause 26 repeals the *Greater Sydney Commission Act 2015*.

Schedule 1 Six Cities Region and its cities

Schedule 1 provides that the Six Cities Region is comprised of the following—

(a) the Eastern Harbour City,

- (b) the Central River City,
- (c) the Central Coast City,
- (d) the Lower Hunter and Greater Newcastle City,
- (e) the Western Parkland City,
- (f) the Illawarra-Shoalhaven City.

The six cities are further described in the Schedule by reference to local government areas.

Schedule 2 Members and procedure of Commission

Schedule 2 contains standard provisions relating to the members and procedure of the Commission.

Schedule 3 Savings, transitional and other provisions

Schedule 3 contains savings, transitional and other provisions consequent on the enactment of the proposed Act.

Schedule 4 Amendment of Environmental Planning and Assessment legislation

Schedule 4 makes consequential and savings and transitional amendments to the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* and the *Environmental Planning and Assessment (Savings, Transitional and Other Provisions) Regulation 2017.*

The Schedule also amends the *Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979* to provide that, in preparing a district strategic plan under the Act, Division 3.1—

- (a) for a district within the Six Cities Region—the plan must include targets, for the periods of 5, 10 and 20 years after the making of the plan, for each local government area in the district, for development consents to be granted by the consent authorities for net additional dwellings in the district, and
- (b) for other districts—the plan may include net additional dwelling targets.

Schedule 5 Consequential amendment of other legislation

Schedule 5 makes consequential amendments to other Acts, including an amendment to the *Interpretation Act 1987* to preserve the meaning of *Greater Sydney Region* for the purposes of other legislation.