Explanatory note

This explanatory note relates to this Bill as introduced into Parliament. Overview of Bill

The objects of this Bill are:

(a) to enable more than 2 persons to be appointed as Deputy Presidents of the Workers Compensation Commission, and

(b) to enable the appointment by the Minister of:

(i) one or more Arbitrators as Senior Arbitrators of the Commission, and

(ii) Senior Arbitrators and other Arbitrators on a full-time basis.

Outline of provisions

Clause 1 sets out the name (also called the short title) of the proposed Act.

Clause 2 provides for the commencement of the proposed Act on the date of assent. Explanatory note page 2

Workers Compensation Amendment (Commission Members) Bill 2010 Explanatory note

Schedule 1 Amendment of Workplace Injury

Management and Workers

Compensation Act 1998 No 86

Schedule 1 [1] substitutes section 368. The substituted section enables the Minister to appoint any number of Deputy Presidents to the Workers Compensation Commission (currently only two Deputy Presidents may be appointed).

The substituted section also provides that all members of the Commission are to be appointed by the Minister (currently Arbitrators are appointed by the President of the Commission).

The substituted section further provides that the Minister may appoint one or more Arbitrators to be Senior Arbitrators, either by the instrument of appointment or by some later instrument executed by the Minister.

Schedule 1 [2] provides that Senior and other Arbitrators appointed on a full-time basis are to be paid remuneration in accordance with the Statutory and Other Offices Remuneration Act 1975.

Schedule 1 [3]–[6] make consequential and other minor amendments relating to Arbitrators.

Schedule 2 Amendment of Statutory and Other

Offices Remuneration Act 1975 (1976

No 4)

Schedule 2 makes a consequential amendment to the Statutory and Other Offices Remuneration Act 1975 to provide that the Statutory and Other Offices

Remuneration Tribunal (and not the Minister) is to determine the remuneration of Senior Arbitrators and other full-time Arbitrators of the Commission.