University of Western Sydney Amendment Bill 2000

Explanatory note

This explanatory note relates to this Bill as introduced into Parliament.

Overview of Bill

The object of this Bill is to replace the existing federated structure of the University of Western Sydney with a unitary structure.

The University's current structure is that of a federation consisting of the office of the Vice-Chancellor and 3 University Members (the University of Western Sydney, Hawkesbury, the University of Western Sydney, Macarthur, and the University of Western Sydney, Nepean). Each University Member has a Council and each Council has a Chair who is appointed by the Board of the University. The Chair of a Council is ex-officio a Deputy Chancellor of the University.

The proposed amendments will:

- (a) abolish the federated structure so that the University will have a unitary structure with a number of campuses (initially Bankstown, Blacktown, Campbelltown, Hawkesbury, Parramatta and Penrith), and
- (b) repeal provisions that establish the University Members and provide for their Chairs and principal executive officers, and
- (c) provide for the election of 2 Deputy Chancellors by the Board (instead of the 3 Deputy Chancellors who at present hold office as a result of being Chairs of the existing University Member Councils), and
- (d) increase from 1 to 2 the number of members of the Board of the University who can be appointed by the Board (with the result that the number of members of the Board will not be reduced by the reduction from 3 to 2 in the number of Deputy Chancellors), and
- (e) enact consequential savings and transitional provisions, and
- (f) make other consequential amendments.

Outline of provisions

Clause 1 sets out the name (also called the short title) of the proposed Act.

Clause 2 provides for the commencement of the proposed Act on a day or days to be appointed by proclamation.

Clause 3 is a formal provision giving effect to the amendments to the *University of Western Sydney Act 1997* set out in Schedule 1.

Schedule 1 Amendments

Schedule 1 [1]–[3] make consequential amendments.

Schedule 1 [4] repeals the provision that establishes the University as a federation and replaces it with a provision that provides for the University to have various campuses.

Schedule 1 [5] makes a consequential amendment.

Schedule 1 [6] increases from 1 to 2 the number of members of the Board of the University who can be appointed by the Board.

Schedule 1 [7] repeals the provision that provides for the Chair of each University Member

Council to be a Deputy Chancellor and replaces it with provision for 2 Deputy Chancellors who are to be elected by the Board of the University.

Schedule 1 [8] and [9] make consequential amendments.

Schedule 1 [10]–[12] repeal the provisions that provide for the Councils of University Members, the Chairs of those Councils and the principal executive officers of the University Members.

Schedule 1 [13]-[22] make consequential amendments.

Schedule 1 [23] provides for the making of consequential savings and transitional regulations.

Schedule 1 [24] enacts consequential savings and transitional provisions.