

PARLIAMENT OF NSW Media Release

24 November 2021

## AND CUT! TALENTED TEEN WINS NSW PARLIAMENT SHORT FILM COMPETITION

Secondary school students from across NSW have shared what democracy means to them in "Parli-Flicks", the inaugural short film competition launched by the Parliament of NSW to celebrate the International Day of Democracy on 15 September.

St Ives High School student Rhys Hibbert's imaginative take on the topic was chosen as the overall winning entry, as well as taking out the Best Junior Secondary (Years 7-9) category. Rhys will receive \$250 in prize money and take home the very first Parli-Flicks trophy.

Rhys's concept of democracy was inspired by a love of all things football.

"I was reflecting on democracy and I thought, a coach gets appointed by the person who owns the club, like a dictatorship, but the captain who leads the team is an example of democracy," said Rhys.

Speaker of the NSW Legislative Assembly Jonathan O'Dea said the competition offers secondary students an opportunity to take the lead and create their own visions of what democracy means to them.

"Initiatives like Parli-Flicks are vital to our democracy. They give students an opportunity to share their ideas on the very system of government they live in," said Mr O'Dea.

President of the NSW Legislative Council Matthew Mason-Cox said it was fantastic to see strong engagement from regional as well as metropolitan secondary schools in NSW.

"I am very impressed to see our concept of democracy interpreted in so many innovative ways by young people."

Finalists were recognised in the following categories:

- Best Regional Short Film
  Joshua Sutton, Francesca Mcrae, Finlay Keegan, Samuel Williams (Callaghan
  College Waratah Technology Campus)
- Best Metropolitan Short Film Emily Taliana & Brooke Hooler (Cranebrook High School)
- Best Junior Secondary Short Film (Years 7-9) Rhys Hibbert (St Ives High School)
- Best Senior Secondary Short Film (Years 10-12) Catarina Fara, Lilia McKellar, Demi Cant, Emily Pockett, Logan Culley (St Joseph's College Lochinvar)
- Overall winner Rhys Hibbert (St Ives High School)

Rhys's winning entry "Democracy Balls" can be viewed here.

To find out more, visit https://education.parliament.nsw.gov.au/parli-flicks.