Staysafe (Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety)

The Staysafe (Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety) is a current joint standing committee, established 21 June 2007, re-established 22 June 2011.

The Staysafe Committee was established in 1982 to investigate and report on road safety matters in New South Wales, and has been reappointed at the commencement of each Parliament since that time. Its terms of reference include the review of countermeasures to reduce the incidence and severity of road crashes, and the monitoring of actions taken to address the social and economic consequences of road trauma.

The Staysafe Committee is able to determine its own inquiries within the broad framework of its overall terms of reference, but also acts on requests from Ministers and Parliament.

The Staysafe Committee has tabled 88 reports. As a result of these reports of the Committee, successive governments have taken a number of initiatives to improve road safety, including the introduction of random breath testing, changes to driver licensing practices (including the new graduated driver licensing system for young drivers), improvements in heavy vehicle safety, the development of more effective and efficient traffic enforcement, the revision of criminal law relating to road use, safer and more effective traffic control around schools, and the introduction of 50 km/h speed limits in urban areas.

Road safety efforts in New South Wales are co-ordinated through the Roads and Traffic Authority. Other government agencies involved in road safety efforts include New South Wales Police, the Motor Accidents Authority, NSW Health, the Ministry of Transport, the Department of Education and Training, and the Attorney General's Department. Significant non-governmental organisations involved in road safety activities in New South Wales include NRMA Motoring & Services, the Australasian College of Road Safety, the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia, the Australian Institute of Traffic Planning and Management, and Bicycle NSW. There are a number of research bodies involved in road safety in New South Wales, including the Injury Risk Management Research Centre (UNSW), the Institute for Trauma and Injury Management, and the George Institute for International Health (U.Syd).

A briefing note summarising the activities of the Staysafe Committee is available from the Secretariat. The briefing note has been produced for use by students and to better inform the general public.

Inquiries (click to show)

During the current parliament, the following inquiries have been undertaken by the committee:

ReferredInquiry Name
16/10/2013 Inquiry into Speed Zoning and its impact on the Demerit Points Scheme (Report Tabled)
19/11/2012 Non-registered Motorised Vehicles (Completed)
22/02/2012 Driver and Road User Distraction (Completed)
26/08/2011 School Zone Safety (Completed)

Records of 17 earlier inquiries conducted by the committee are also available online.

Submissions invited (click to show)

The committee is not actively receiving submissions at present. Past submissions may be available under the relevant inquiry.

Reports and government responses (click to show)

During the current parliament, the committee has or plans to table the following reports:
Report DateName of the report
04/11/2014Speed Zoning and Its Impact on the Demerit Points Scheme
18/03/2014Non-registered motorised vehicles
27/03/2013Report on Driver and Road User Distraction
27/03/2012Inquiry into School Zone Safety
(there are also 34 reports from past Parliaments).

Members (click to show)

Chair: Mr Greg APLIN (Lib, LA Member).
Deputy Chair: The Hon. Richard COLLESS (Nat, LC Member).
Members:Mr Chris HOLSTEIN (Lib, LA Member)
 Mr Ryan PARK (ALP, LA Member)
 Mr Andrew ROHAN (Lib, LA Member)
 Mr John WILLIAMS (Nat, LA Member)
 Reverend the Hon. Fred NILE (CDP, LC Member)
 The Hon. Walter SECORD (ALP, LC Member)

Contact (click to show)

Main contactBjarne Nordin(02) 9230 2843(02) 9230
DirectorElaine Schofield(02) 9230 2226(02) 9230
Research OfficerVedrana Trisic(02) 9230 2496(02) 9230
Committee OfficerJames Newton (02) 9230

Postal address (click to show)

Staysafe Committee, Parliament House, Macquarie Street, SYDNEY NSW 2000

Terms of Reference establishing Committee (click to show)

Resolution passed 22 June 2011, 55th Parliament, Votes and Proceedings No.23, Item 8, Page 7, as amended 24 November 2011, 55th Parliament, Votes and Proceedings No. 59, Item 25, Page 491.

A Joint Standing Committee (to be known as the Staysafe Committee) be appointed to inquire into and report on road safety in New South Wales with the following term of reference:
(1) As an ongoing task, the Committee is to -
(a) Monitor, investigate and report on the road safety situation in New South Wales; and
(b) Review and report on countermeasures aimed at reducing deaths, injuries and the social and economic costs to the community arising from road accidents.
(2) The Committee consist of five members of the Legislative Assembly and three members of the Legislative Council and that, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders of either House, at any meeting of the Committee, any four members shall constitute a quorum provided that the Committee shall meet as a joint committee at all times.
(3) Mr Greg Aplin, Mr Stuart Ayres, Mr Robert Furolo, Mr Darren Webber and Mr John Williams be appointed to serve on the Committee as the members of the Legislative Assembly.
(4) The Committee have leave to sit and transact business during the sittings or any adjournment of either House, and despite any prorogation of the Houses of Parliament.
(5) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other States and Territories of Australia.
(6) A message be sent acquainting the Legislative Council of the resolution and requesting the Legislative Council to appoint three of its members to serve with the members of the Legislative Assembly upon the Committee, and to fix a time and place for the first meeting.