Legislative Council Select Committee on the Partial Defence of Provocation

The Select Committee on the Partial Defence of Provocation is a current select committee of the Legislative Council, established 14 June 2012, and ended 23 April 2013.

The Committee was established to inquire into and report on the partial defence of provocation.

Inquiries (click to show)

During the current parliament, the following inquiries have been undertaken by the committee:

ReferredInquiry Name
14/06/2012 Partial defence of provocation (Report Tabled)

No inquiries were undertaken by the committee in past parliaments.

Submissions invited (click to show)

The committee is not actively receiving submissions at present. Past submissions may be available under the relevant inquiry.

Reports and government responses (click to show)

During the current parliament, the committee has or plans to table the following reports:
Report DateName of the report
23/04/2013The partial defence of provocation

Members (click to show)

Chair: Reverend the Hon. Fred NILE (CDP, LC Member).
Deputy Chair: The Hon. Trevor KHAN (Nat, LC Member).
Members:The Hon. David CLARKE (Lib, LC Member)
 Mr Scot MACDONALD (Lib, LC Member)
 The Hon. Adam SEARLE (ALP, LC Member)
 Mr David SHOEBRIDGE (The Greens, LC Member)
 The Hon. Helen WESTWOOD (ALP, LC Member)

Contact (click to show)

Main contactVanessa Viaggio9230 27249230 2981provocationinquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au
DirectorRachel Callinan9230 29769230 2981provocationinquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Assistant Council OfficerLynn Race9230 35049230 2981provocationinquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Postal address (click to show)

Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney NSW 2000

Terms of Reference establishing Committee (click to show)

Resolution passed 14 June 2012, LC Minutes No 92, Item 10 page 1062

Resolution establishing the Committee.pdfResolution establishing the Committee.pdf