System of Government in NSW

The system of government in New South Wales is similar to other "Westminster" (English-style) systems in Australia and around the world, but it has its own characteristics and institutions.

These pages explain how the three elements of power which make up our system of government - the executive, the legislative, and the judicial - relate and operate.

It also looks at the position and role of the Governor of New South Wales, the electoral system, and provides some information about how citizens can access and influence the system.