The Hon. Troy Wayne GRANT, MP

The Hon. Troy Wayne GRANT,  MP
Member of the Legislative Assembly
Member for Dubbo
Deputy Premier, Minister for Justice and Police, Minister for the Arts, and Minister for Racing
Member of the The Nationals

Contact Details

To ensure the speediest handling of messages, please select the correct address:

Dubbo Electorate Office

Ministerial Office

A The Hon. Troy Grant, MP
Shop 1
18 Talbragar Street
A The Hon. Troy Grant, MP
52 Martin Place
Postal The Hon. Troy Grant, MP
GPO Box 5341
P (02) 6882 3577 P (02) 8574 6800
F (02) 6882 3689 F (02) 9339 5536
E E Contact the Deputy Premier

Parliamentary Activity

Current Positions

Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly26 Mar 2011 
Member for Dubbo26 Mar 2011 
Minister for the Arts23 Apr 2014 
Deputy Premier17 Oct 2014 
Minister for Justice and Police2 Apr 2015 
Minister for Racing2 Apr 2015 
Leader of The Nationals16 Oct 2014 

Prior Positions

Minister for Trade and Investment17 Oct 20142 Apr 20155mths 17days 
Minister for Hospitality, Gaming and Racing23 Apr 20142 Apr 201511mths 11days 
Minister for Tourism and Major Events17 Oct 20142 Apr 20155mths 17days 
Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services17 Oct 20142 Apr 20155mths 17days 
Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources4 May 201117 Apr 20142yrs 11mths 14days 
Chair, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders9 Sep 201414 Oct 20141mth 6daysRe-appointed to the Committee as Chair on 9 September 2014 following committee being re-established after prorogation.
Chair, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders29 Aug 20138 Sep 20141yr 11daysMembership of Committee (and the Committee itself) dissolved with the prorogation of the Parliament on 8 September 2014.
Member, Social Policy Committee22 Jun 201114 May 20142yrs 10mths 23days 
Member, Joint Select Committee on Sentencing of Child Sexual Assault Offenders21 Aug 201329 Aug 20139daysElected Chair of the Committee on 29 August 2013 (see separate entry).

Parliamentary Record

Mr Grant's speeches in Hansard

Mr Grant's questions published in the Question & Answer Paper

About the Dubbo Electorate

Rural. Located within Central Slopes Statistical Agricultural Area.

Principal centres: Apple Tree Flat, Apsley, Arthurville, Avisford, Bakers Swamp, Ballimore, Bara, Barneys Reef, Ben Buckley, Beni, Benolong, Beryl, Biraganbil, Birriwa, Bocoble, Bodangora, Bombira, Botobolar, Bournewood, Brocklehurst, Buckaroo, Budgee Budgee, Bundemar, Bungaba, Burroway, Burrundulla, Caerleon, Canadian Lead, Carcalgong, Collingwood, Comobella, Cooyal, Cope, Cross Roads, Crudine, Cudgegong, Cullenbone, Cumbandry, Cundumbul, Curra Creek, Dandaloo, Dripstone, Dubbo, Dunedoo, Elong Elong, Erudgere, Eschol, Euchareena, Eumungerie, Eurimbla, Eurunderee, Farnham, Frog Rock, Galambine, Geurie, Gin Gin, Gollan, Goolma, Goonoo Forest, Grattai, Green Gully, Gulgong, Guntawang, Hargraves, Havilah, Hayes Gap, Home Rule, Kains Flat, Kerrs Creek, Linburn, Loombah, Lue, Maitland Bar, Maryvale, Mebul, Medway, Menah, Meroo, Merotherie, Merotherie, Milroy, Minore, Mogriguy, Montefiores, Mookerawa, Mount Aquila, Mount Arthur, Mount Frome, Mount Knowles, Mudgee, Mullamuddy, Mumbil, Nanima, Narromine, Neurea, North Yeoval, Piambong, Ponto, Putta Bucca, Pyramul, Queens Pinch, Rawsonville, Riverlea, Spicers Creek, Spring Flat, St Fillans, Stony Creek, Stuart Town, Stubbo, Suntop, Tallawang, Tambaroora, Terrabella, Terramungamine, Tomingley, Toongi, Trangie, Triamble, Twelve Mile, Two Mile Flat, Two Mile Flat, Ulan, Ulan, Ullamalla, Walmer, Wambangalang, Wellington, Wilbetree, Windeyer, Wongarbon, Worlds End, Wuuluman, Yarrabin, Yarragal, Yarrawonga.

Area: 17,352.89 sq km.

Population: 72,291. Enrolment: 52,994.

For more detailed information see -


Honours Received - National Medal, NSW Police, 19 November 2004. NSW Police Medal 2nd Clasp, NSW Police, 30 September 2004. Commissioners Commendation (Courage) NSW Police, 11 December 1993 and 17 November 1990. Commissioners Unit Citation, NSW Police, 2010. Northern Region Award (Dedication to Duty), NSW Police, 30 June 2001. Northern Region Award (Professionalism), NSW Police, 10 September 1996. Dubbo District Citation (Courage, Devotion to Duty, Professionalism), NSW Police, 12 June 1991. Dubbo District Citation (Initiative), NSW Police, 17 June 1990.

Personal - Married with 2 children.

Qualifications, Occupations and Interests - Certifcate of Policing, NSW Police, 1990. Graduate Certificate of Applied Management, AIPM, 2010. Advanced Diploma Managment (HR), Western Institute of TAFE, 2010. Dip. Management, Western Institute of TAFE, 2011.

April 1989 to March 2011 Inspector, NSW Police.

Interests/Hobbies - Keen sportsman and recrecational shooter. Held Guiness Book of Records World Record for most holes of golf played in 7 days (1,800 in 2004). Interests also include geneology, political history, ancient history and travel.

Inaugural speech, 14 June 2011:

Troy Grant Inaugural Speech.pdf

Keywords: Deputy Premier, Minister for Justice and Police, Minister for the Arts, and Minister for Racing
Last modified 03/06/2015 10:43:01