Sesquicentenary of Responsible Government

About this Item
SpeakersHarwin The Hon Don
BusinessAdjournment, Motion

Page: 1350

      The Hon. DON HARWIN [10.27 p.m.]: I will necessarily be brief in noting that one of the more admirable things this State has done is to establish last year the History Project Committee for the Sesquicentenary of Responsible Government. That project obviously has come to a close, but its legacy will live on for a very long time. Almost two dozen works now grace the libraries of New South Wales. As Premier Carr, who got the original grant to establish the committee and to commemorate the sesquicentenary in a very fine way, intended, we now have a permanent record of the sesquicentenary in the nature of books—not in bread and circuses, as I think has been the approach in some other States.
      I conclude by saying that just last week we heard an announcement about the Prime Minister's History Award nominees. One of the sesquicentenary books has been shortlisted for a Prime Minister's award, and the committee received a special commendation for all the work it has done. Barry O'Farrell and I served on that bipartisan committee along with Mr Rodney Cavalier and the Hon. Michael Egan. A lot of very good people, such as Dr David Clune, Mr Ken Turner, Mr Michael Hogan, Professor James Hagan, Ms Carol Liston and Mr Graham Freudenberg, also served on the committee. It was a wonderful experience and an appropriate memorial to the sesquicentenary of responsible government.
      [ Time for debate expired.]
      Question—That this House do now adjourn—put and resolved in the affirmative.
      Motion agreed to.
      The House adjourned at 10.29 p.m. until Thursday 21 June 2007 at 11.00 a.m.