Community Service Awards

About this Item
SpeakersVaughan The Hon Bryan; Dyer The Hon Ron
BusinessQuestions Without Notice


The Hon. B. H. VAUGHAN: I address my question without notice to the Acting Leader of the Government. Will the Minister inform the House of the presentation of the New South Wales Community Service Awards?

The Hon. R. D. DYER: I ask the House to acknowledge some exemplary New South Wales citizens. Last week 20 members of the public were honoured for outstanding community service. They went above and beyond the call of duty to help police and emergency service workers in saving lives and assisting in rescue and disaster situations. New South Wales police and emergency service workers do a fantastic job in protecting and helping us all in emergencies. However, members of the public also perform acts of outstanding community service, and their brave acts merit special recognition.

Nominations for Community Service Awards are made by members of the Police Service or by emergency services personnel for consideration by the Ministerial Community Service Awards Review Committee. Two of my colleagues, the Minister for Emergency Services, the Hon. Bob Debus, and the Minister for Police, the Hon. Paul Whelan, attended last week’s presentation ceremony. Both were honoured to meet the award recipients, who have performed acts such as pulling others from burning homes and motor vehicles, apprehending offenders committing crimes or performing lifesaving cardiopulmonary resuscitation. It is hard not to be overwhelmed and humbled by the selfless acts of these outstanding people.

The recipients of the Community Services Awards are: Ross Delayney, Eastern Creek; Graeme Selleck, Northmead; John Rowe, Clovelly; Max Cameron, Spring Plains; David Curry, Petersham; Brett Reynish, Narellan; Barry O’Malley, Artarmon; Lance Churchill, Molong; Owen Miners, Yass; Brien Underwood, Ambarvale; Gregory Sainsbury, Cambridge Park; Kylie Watkins, Albion Park; Collin Selby-Adams, Bankstown; Robert Khoo, Kingsgrove; Stephen Swain, Ashfield; Peter West, Crossmaglen; Darren Jepson, Springdale, Victoria; Graeme Watson, Orange; Allan Brien, Ambarvale; and Neil Bowerman, Coffs Harbour. I am sure all honourable members will join me in congratulating and thanking these New South Wales community heroes.