Legislative Assembly Legal Affairs Committee

This committee is inactive. Contact and Member information appearing on this page is historical only.

The Legal Affairs Committee is a completed standing committee of the Legislative Assembly, and ended 6 Mar 2015.

Committees of the 55th Parliament (2011-2015) have expired. Committees of the 56th Parliament will be appointed shortly.

Inquiries (click to show)

Reports and Government Responses (click to show)

Members (click to show)

[No Members' details are available].

Contact (click to show)

Main contactElaine Schofield(02) 9230 2226(02) 9230 3309LA.Committees@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Postal address (click to show)

Legal Affairs Committee
Parliament House
Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Terms of Reference establishing Committee (click to show)

Resolution passed in the Legislative Assembly on 22 June 2011, Votes and Proceedings No 23, Item 11.

That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders:

(1) A Specialist Standing Committee, to be known as the Legal Affairs Committee be appointed to inquire into and report on any proposal, matter or thing concerned with legal affairs in New South Wales.

Initiation of inquiries

(2) The Committee may be referred an inquiry by resolution of the House or in writing from a Minister.

(3) The Committee may initiate an inquiry on its own motion and report on any proposal, matter or thing relevant to its functions, including an annual report or petition.

(4) The Committee shall take care not to duplicate an inquiry into any matters under examination by a portfolio committee or another standing committee of the House, and any question arising in this connection may be referred to the House for determination.


(5) The Committee consist of five members, comprising:

(a) three members supporting the Government (one of whom shall be the Chair);
(b) two members not supporting the Government.

(6) The following members of the Legislative Assembly be appointed to serve on the Committee: Mr Clayton Barr, Mr Stephen Bromhead, Mr Bryan Doyle, Ms Sonia Hornery and Mr Dominic Perrottet.


(7) The Committee have the power to appoint sub-committees, consisting of three members, and to refer to a sub-committee any of the matters which the Committee is empowered to consider. In this regard, the sub-committee may be responsible for conducting hearings, briefings, visits of inspections and other activities but cannot make decisions concerning the conduct of an inquiry, such as the selection of witnesses, and the Committee’s reports.

(8) The Committee and any sub-committee have power to send for persons and documents, to move from place to place, and to meet and transact business during the sittings or any adjournment of the House, and despite any prorogation of the Houses of Parliament.

(9) A sub-committee have at least one member supporting the Government and one member not supporting the Government, and a quorum for a sub-committee shall be at least two members.

Visits of inspection

(10) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other States and Territories of Australia.