Legislative Council Select Committee on Electoral and Political Party Funding

This committee is inactive. Contact and Member information appearing on this page is historical only.

The Select Committee on Electoral and Political Party Funding is an expired select committee of the Legislative Council, established 27 June 2007, and ended 19 June 2008.

The Committee was established to inquire into and report on electoral and political party funding.

Inquiries (click to show)

Reports and Government Responses (click to show)

Members (click to show)

Chair: Rev The Hon Fred Nile.
Deputy Chair: The Hon Don Harwin.
Members:The Hon. Robert BROWN (Shooters and Fishers Party, LC Member)
 The Hon. Amanda FAZIO (ALP, LC Member)
 The Hon. Jenny GARDINER (Nat, LC Member)
 The Hon. Don HARWIN (Lib, LC Member)
 Reverend the Hon. Fred NILE (CDP, LC Member)
 The Hon. Mick VEITCH (ALP, LC Member)

Contact (click to show)

Main contactMadeleine Foley9230 35869230 2981fundinginquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au
DirectorRachel Simpson9230 2898 fundinginquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Principal Council OfficerMadeleine Foley9230 3586 fundinginquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Council OfficerCathryn Cummins  fundinginquiry@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Terms of Reference establishing Committee (click to show)

Legislative Council Wednesday 27 June 2007, Minutes No 14, Item 8, page 180, amended by Legislative Council Tuesday 23 October 2007, Minutes No 22, Item No 2, page 288

1. That a select committee be appointed to inquire into and report on the funding of, and disclosure of donations to, political parties, and candidates in state and local government elections, and in particular:

      (a) all matters associated with electoral funding and disclosure

      (b) the advantages and disadvantages of banning all donations from corporations, unions and
      organisations to parties and candidates

      (c) the advantages and disadvantages of introducing limits on expenditure in election

      (d) the impact of political donations on the democratic process and

      (e) any related matters.
2. That notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, the committee consist of six
members of the Legislative Council of whom:
      (a) two must be government members

      (b) two must be opposition members, and

      (c) two must be cross bench members.
3. That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders, at any meeting of the committee,
any four members of the committee will constitute a quorum.

4. That the committee report by the last sitting day in June 2008.

Further reading (click to show)