Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services

The Committee on Community Services is a current standing committee of the Legislative Assembly.

The Committees of the 55th Parliament (2011-2015) have expired. Recent reports and inquiries are available below.

Inquiries (click to show)

During the current parliament, no inquiries have been undertaken by the committee.

Records of earlier inquiries undertaken by the committee appear below:

ReferredInquiry Name
22/02/2012   Outsourcing Community Service Delivery (Completed)

Submissions invited (click to show)

The committee is not actively receiving submissions at present. Past submissions may be available under the relevant inquiry.

Reports and government responses (click to show)

The committee has not published any reports during the current parliament.

Records of earlier reports published by the committee appear below:

Report DateName of the report
19/11/2013   Outsourcing Community Service Delivery - Final Report
13/08/2013   Outsourcing Community Service Delivery - Interim Report

Members (click to show)

[No Members' details are available].

Contact (click to show)

Main contactBjarne Nordin(02) 9230 2843(02) 9230 3309communityservices@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Committee OfficerJacqueline Isles(02) 9230 3011(02) 9230 3309communityservices@parliament.nsw.gov.au
DirectorElaine Schofield(02) 9230 2226(02) 9230 3309communityservices@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Postal address (click to show)

Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services
Parliament House
Macquarie Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Terms of Reference establishing Committee (click to show)

Resolution passed in the Legislative Assembly on 22 June 2011, Votes and Proceedings No 23. Item 15.

(15) Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services

That, notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders:

(1) A Portfolio Standing Committee to be known as the Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services be appointed. The following portfolio responsibilities stand referred to the Committee – Health; Medical Research; Education; Mental Health; Healthy Lifestyles; Ageing; Aboriginal Affairs; Disability Services; Family and Community Services; Women; Citizenship and Communities; Western New South Wales; and Sports and Recreation.

(2) The name and portfolio groupings of the Committee may change to correspond with any changes made by the Government to the relevant portfolios.

Terms of reference

(3) The Committee may examine, inquire into and report on the following matters concerning its portfolio areas:

(a) any matter referred to it by the House;
(b) any relevant policy, bill or subordinate legislation;
(c) any relevant financial matter; and
(d) any relevant portfolio issue.

(4) Legislative scrutiny – The Committee, in this context, have a legislative scrutiny function that shall include evaluating the policy impact and consequences for each portfolio of any relevant bill introduced in Parliament, any existing legislation and any item of subordinate legislation.

(5) Financial matters – The examination of financial matters by the Committee include the review of government financial management, by considering the financial documents, expenditure, performance and effectiveness of any relevant government department, agency, statutory body or state-owned corporation.

(6) Examination of annual and other reports – The Committee may examine any matter in the annual report or other reports of any public body, including:

(a) the adequacy and accuracy of all financial and operational information;
(b) any matter arising from the annual report or other report concerning the efficient and effective achievement of the agency’s objectives.

(7) Public works – The Committee may consider any matter concerning public works relating to the portfolio area.

Initiation of inquiries

(8) The Committee may be referred an inquiry by resolution of the House or in writing from a Minister.

(9) Except in the case of bills, the Committee also may initiate an inquiry on its own motion and report on any proposal, matter or thing relevant to its functions, including an annual report, other report or petition. The Committee can only consider a Bill on referral from the House, in accordance with standing order 323 (Legislation Committees).

(10) The Committee take care not to duplicate an inquiry into any matters under examination by another portfolio or standing committee of the House, and any question arising in this connection may be referred to the House for determination.


(11) The Committee consist of five members, comprising:

(a) three members supporting the Government (one of whom shall be the chair);
(b) two members not supporting the Government.

(12) That the following members of the Legislative Assembly be appointed to serve on the Committee: Mr Kevin Anderson, Mr Kevin Conolly, Mr Tony Issa, Mrs Barbara Perry and Ms Anna Watson.


(13) The Committee have the power to appoint sub-committees, consisting of 3 members, and to refer to a sub-committee any of the matters which the Committee is empowered to consider. In this regard, the sub-committee may be responsible for conducting hearings, briefings, visits of inspections and other activities but cannot make decisions concerning the conduct of an inquiry, such as the selection of witnesses, and the Committee’s reports.

(14) The Committee and any sub-committee have power to send for persons and documents, to move from place to place, and to meet and transact business during the sittings or any adjournment of the House, and despite any prorogation of the Houses of Parliament.

(15) A sub-committee have at least one member supporting the Government and one member not supporting the Government, and a quorum for a sub-committee shall be at least two members.

Visits of inspection

(16) The Committee have leave to make visits of inspection within the State of New South Wales and other States and Territories of Australia.