Alan Mcgilvray Scholarship

About this Item
SpeakersFicarra The Hon Marie
BusinessBusiness of the House

Page: 9030

Motion by the Hon. MARIE FICARRA agreed to:
      1. That this House notes that:
          (a) on 26 February 2012, the Hon. Graham Annesley, MP, Minister for Sport and Recreation, awarded the 2012 Alan McGilvray Scholarship to Kurtis Patterson and Katie Mack during a reception at the Sydney Cricket Ground,

          (b) the McGilvray scholarship is a very competitive award honouring the late great broadcaster Alan McGilvray, AM, MBE, former New South Wales Sheffield Shield player and captain,

          (c) this scholarship is awarded annually to one male and one female cricketer between 17 and 19 years of age from a field of players who compete at the State level,

          (d) Kurtis Patterson, aged 18 of Hurstville, was selected as the male recipient, and recently became the youngest batsman to score a century in the Sheffield Shield, showing promising signs of a developing into a top order batsman, and

          (e) Katie Mack, aged 18 of Bankstown, was selected as the female recipient, and was part of the New South Wales team that dominated the Under 18 Female National Championships, and has developed into a formidable right-arm leg spin bowler.

      2. That this House congratulates Kurtis Patterson and Katie Mack for their achievement in the sport of cricket, and recognises their commitment to one day represent Australia at the international level.