United India Association

About this Item
SpeakersFazio The Hon Amanda
BusinessBusiness of the House

Page: 8356

Motion by the Hon. AMANDA FAZIO agreed to:

      1. That this House notes that the United Indian Association [UIA] is the premier umbrella organisation of the Indian Diaspora in Australia and engages in social and community development which has the following aims and objectives:

          (i) to promote a harmonious relationship amongst Australian citizens, Indian migrants, and society in general by cultivating mutual respect through increased social interaction, sports, recreation, and other voluntary activities of significant community benefit,

          (ii) to act as a channel of communication between the Australian Indian community, the Commonwealth and New South Wales Governments and the Indian Government on welfare, social and economic matters,

          (iii) to undertake welfare work for the benefit and on behalf of the Indian community in New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory, either directly or through some agency,

          (iv) to celebrate cultural activities for all Indian communities with their cooperation,

          (v) to establish, develop and maintain a Community Sports and Cultural Centre in New South Wales for the use and benefit of member organisations and the community,

          (vi) to affiliate to and cooperate with other associations whose objectives are altogether similar to those of the United Indian Association, subject to the approval of the Governing Council,

          (vii) to establish such facilities and to do all such other lawful activities as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the purposes of the United Indian Association,

          (viii) to encourage and foster the development of Indian languages and culture within the Australian context, and

          (ix) to create a benevolent fund for the benefit of members of the Indian Community and to appoint trustees to manage the fund.
      2. That this House notes that:
          (a) the United Indian Association held its annual dinner and celebrations of Indian Republic Day and Australia Day on 20 January 2012,

          (b) the event was attended by over 450 people from the various organisations that form part of the United Indian Association,
          (c) a number of Federal Members of Parliament attended the event, including:
            (i) the Hon. Chris Bowen, MP,

            (ii) Ms Julie Owens, MP,

            (iii) Ms Michelle Rowland, MP,

            (iv) the Hon. Philip Ruddock, MP,

            (v) the Hon. Laurie Ferguson, MP,
          (d) a number of State members of Parliament attended the event, including:
            (i) the Hon. Linda Burney, MP,

            (ii) the Hon. Victor Dominello, MP, Minister for Citizenship and Communities and Minister for Aboriginal Affairs,

            (iii) the Hon. Greg Smith, MP, Attorney General and Minister for Justice,

            (iv) Dr Geoff Lee, MP,

            (v) Mr Matt Kean, MP,

            (vi) the Hon. Barbara Perry, MP,

            (vii) the Hon. Amanda Fazio, MLC,

            (viii) Mr Robert Furolo, MP,

            (ix) Mr Tony Issa, MP,
          (e) the Consul General of India in Sydney, Mr Amit Das Gupta, also attended the event and addressed the gathering along with Consul Mr Gautam Roy,

          (f) all speakers highlighted the growth of India and significance of the relationship between India and Australia, and applauded the efforts by the United Indian Association team in social development and representing the Indian Diaspora in Sydney,

          (g) the event highlighted the unity and strength of the organisation, providing a great opportunity for the Indian Australians to enjoy and celebrate the national days of India and Australia, and

          (h) during the dinner event, the United Indian Association presented:
            (i) Higher School Certificate High Achiever Awards to 25 students from the Indian Australian community,

            (ii) three Friends of India Awards,

            (iii) one Young Achiever Award,

            (iv) Lifetime Achievement Awards to Neville Roach, Arun Jagatramka, Harish Velji and Dr Stephan Kerkasharian,

            (v) Community Service Awards to Dave Passi, Dr Nagamma Prakash, Sumati Advani, Logessan Pillay and the late Mrs Leelamony Pillay.
      3. That this House commends United Indian Association President Mr Amarinder Bajwa and all the office bearers of the United Indian Association, past and present, for the commendable work they do to achieve the aims and objectives of the organisation.